It's About a Billion Lives Symposium


4.5 hours

Webinar Speakers
Webinar Objectives

Keynote Panel: 20 Years of the Industry Documents: Past, Present and Future:

  • Stanton A. Glantz, PhD, Professor of Medicine (Retired)
  • Micah Berman, JD, Associate Professor of Public Health and Law, Ohio State University’s College of Public Health and Michael E. Moritz College of Law
  • Valerie Yerger, ND, Associate Professor in Health Policy at the University of California, San Francisco
  • Kate Tasker, MLIS, UCSF Industry Documents Library Managing Archivist
  • Moderator: Dr. Cheryl Healton, Professor of Professor of Public Health Policy and Management and Founding Dean, NYU School of Global Public Health

Presentations by Faculty and Postdoctoral Scholars:

  • "Industry Influence Over Scientific Information on Breast Cancer: Exploring the UCSF Industry Documents Library," Cristin Kearns, DDS, MBA, Assistant Professor, UCSF Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences
  • "Tobacco Cessation in Substance Use Treatment: Research & Policy Efforts to Reduce Tobacco-Related Health Inequity," Caravella McCuistian, PhD, Clinical Psychologist and Assistant Professor, UCSF Department of Psychiatry
  • "Unequal risk for tobacco-related stroke in Black adults," Jelena Mustra Rakic, PhD, Postdoctoral Scholar, UCSF Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education
  • "Tobacco Industry documents: how looking through the keyhole contributed to tobacco control in Brazil," Andre Luiz Oliveira da Silva, PhD, Postdoctoral Scholar, UCSF Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education

Closing Remarks, Chris Shaffer, MS, UCSF Assistant Vice Chancellor and University Librarian

Instructions for CME/CEU Credit

Up to four hours of FREE credit can be earned for a limited number of participants who join the LIVE session, in-person or online, on Thursday, January 26, 2023. You will receive instructions on how to claim credit via the post webinar email.

Certificates of Attendance

Click here to generate a certificate of attendance for participating on this webinar.

ACCME Accreditation

The University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

UCSF designates this live activity for a maximum of 4.0 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the webinar activity.

Advance Practice Registered Nurses and Registered Nurses: For the purpose of recertification, the American Nurses Credentialing Center accepts AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM issued by organizations accredited by the ACCME.

Physician Assistants: The National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) states that the AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM are acceptable for continuing medical education requirements for recertification.

California Pharmacists: The California Board of Pharmacy accepts as continuing professional education those courses that meet the standard of relevance to pharmacy practice and have been approved for AMA PRA category 1 CreditTM. If you are a pharmacist in another state, you should check with your state board for approval of this credit.

California Psychologists: The California Board of Psychology recognizes and accepts for continuing education credit courses that are provided by entities approved by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM is acceptable to meeting the CE requirements for the California Board of Psychology. Providers in other states should check with their state boards for acceptance of CME credit.

California Behavioral Science Professionals: University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine (UCSF) is approved by the California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists to sponsor continuing education for behavioral health providers. UCSF maintains responsibility for this program/course and its content.

Course meets the qualifications for 4.0 hours of continuing education credit for LMFTs, LCSWs, LPCCs, and/or LEPs as required by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. Provider # 64239.


The UCSF office of continuing medical education is accredited by the California Consortium of Addiction Programs and Professionals (CCAPP), to provide continuing education credit for California addiction counselors. UCSF designates this live, virtual activity, for a maximum of 4.0 CCAPP credits. Addiction counselors should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. Provider number: 7-20-322-0724.



For CRCE certificates, email Aria Yow at [email protected] with your full name, credentials, AARC # and state of residence. You will receive your certificate within two weeks’ time.

This program has been approved for a maximum of 4.0 contact hour Continuing Respiratory Care Education (CRCE) credit by the American Association for Respiratory Care, 9425 N. MacArthur Blvd. Suite 100 Irving TX 75063. Course # 189283000.


This UCSF CME activity was planned and developed to uphold academic standards to ensure balance, independence, objectivity, and scientific rigor; adhere to requirements to protect health information under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA); and include a mechanism to inform learners when unapproved or unlabeled uses of therapeutic products or agents are discussed or referenced.

All speakers, planning committee members and reviewers have disclosed they have no relevant financial relationships to disclose with ineligible companies whose primary business is producing, marketing, selling, re-selling, or distributing healthcare products used by or on patients.

Maia Bailey, Micah Berman, JD, Catherine Bonniot, Anita Browning, Christine Cheng, Brian Clark, Andre Luiz Oliveira da Silva, Kathleen Franklin, Stanton Glantz, MD, Cristin Kearns, DDS, MBA, Jonathan Leff, MLIS, Pamela Ling, MD, MPH, Jennifer Matekuare, Caravella McCuistian, PhD, Ma Krisanta Pamatmat, MPH, Jelena Mustra Rakic, PhD, Chris Shaffer, MS, Kate Tasker, MLIS, Maya Vijayaraghavan, MD, and Aria Yow, MA.